TCHS Academic Team wins District Governor’s Cup

District Governor's Cup Champions

On Saturday, January 27, 2018, Taylor County High School hosted the District Governor’s Cup.

The TCHS Academic Team won the District Governor’s Cup Quick Recall Tournament! Team members are Weston Young, Andrew Melton, Matthew Pembleton, Emma Maynard, Ryan Maynard, Geoff Bruns, and Matthew Hale.

In addition, several TCHS students walked away with 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th place individually. In Written Assessment events the following students placed:

Weston Young: 1st place Science, 2nd place Composition

Mikey Sanford: 2nd place Science, 2nd place Mathematics, 3rd place Composition

Andrew Melton: 1st place Mathematics

Matthew Pembleton: 1st place Social Studies

Jane Tucker: 1st place Composition

Geoff Bruns: 1st place Arts and Humanities

Emma Maynard: 1st place Language Arts

Joseph Cox: 3rd place Language Arts, 5th place Arts and Humanities

Ryan Maynard: 4th place Social Studies

Combined point totals earned Taylor County High School Academic Team the DISTRICT GOVERNOR’S CUP CHAMPIONSHIP!

The team also won the Hume Award for sportsmanship. This award is voted on by all event competitors.

The team will progress to the Regionals in Bardstown on Saturday, February 17th.

The TCHS Academic Team is coached by Dawn Flinchum and Pam Rash.  

Pictured from left to right: Pam Rash (coach), Geoff Bruns, Emma Maynard, Mikey Sanford, Matt Hale (back), Andrew Melton, Ryan Maynard, Matthew Pembleton, Weston Young, Joseph Cox, Morgan Melton (back), Olivia Cheatham, Dawn Flinchum (coach)

Back to School News      Print News Article