2020 Governor’s Scholars from Taylor County High School


Congratulations to the 2020 Governor’s Scholars from Taylor County High School! All eight students who were nominated from TCHS and competed at the state-level were accepted into the program from a highly competitive field of 1,857 outstanding young Kentuckians.

According to the Governor’s Scholar Program website, selection for the program is highly competitive, with an application process similar to that of prestigious colleges and universities. In addition to an academic profile that includes difficulty of course load, GPA, and at least one standardized test score, the application requires an outline of all extracurricular activities, a history of volunteer service, and a list of job positions held. A teacher recommendation, which includes both a quantitative evaluation and qualitative descriptions of the student’s performance and potential; as well as a community recommendation which shows how a student performs in a community setting beyond the high school are also required. The final component of the application is an original writing entry.


2020 Governor’s Scholars from TCHS:


Sydney Bertram, daughter of Allan and Kelli Bertram

Sydney Bertram

Emma Maynard, daughter of Sean and Kathy Maynard

Emma Maynard

Morgan Melton, daughter of David and April Melton

Morgan Melton

Noah Rogers, son of Matthew and Lori Rogers

Noah Rogers

Marc Shewmaker, son of Chris and Deana Shewmaker

Marc Shewmaker

Emilee Walters, daughter of John and Donna Walls

Emilee Walters

Grayson Wise, daughter of Max and Heather Wise

Grayson Wise

Audrey Young, daughter of Troy Young and Dana Rogers

Audrey Young

The program is a summer residential program for outstanding high school students in Kentucky who are rising seniors. The Program originated in 1983 as a result of Kentucky leaders’ concern that the state’s “best and brightest” were leaving the Commonwealth to pursue educational and career opportunities elsewhere without fully understanding the potential of their talents at home (gsp.ky.gov). 


Congratulations to our students on this prestigious honor!! 


Back to School News      Print News Article